Toshi Nishida
Dept. of Electrical & Computer Engineering
University of Florida

Strain Effects in Semiconductor Devices (Si MOSFET, GaN HEMT, and PZT Ferroelectric Capacitors)

Location: EB1 Room 1011

Friday, March 7th 2014 - 11:00 am

Although strain is an old concept in semiconductor physics, strain applied in Si logic technology is a relatively new response to the diminishing returns of pure geometric scaling. Process-induced strain was the first additive feature enhancement introduced into planar Si MOSFET transistors by Intel in 2002 which heralded a new age of feature-enhanced CMOS scaling. While strain is 'added' to Si MOSFETs, strain is a major factor in the operation and performance as well as the reliability of AlGaN/GaN HEMT devices. In addition, the potential for strain enhancement in PZT ferroelectric capacitors will also be discussed.

Toshikazu (Toshi) Nishida is Professor and Associate Chair of Research in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering (ECE) and an Affiliate Professor in the Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering (MAE) at the University of Florida. He is a co-founder of the Interdisciplinary Microsystems Group, currently a nine-faculty (five ECE and four MAE faculty), 100 student multidisciplinary group ( His research focuses on the development of reliable, high performance, multi-functional semiconductor devices and solid-state physical sensors and actuators. He and his students are currently investigating strain effects in semiconductor devices, multi-functional devices and systems, and novel MEMS fabrication technologies. He received his Ph.D. (1988) and M.S. degrees in Electrical and Computer engineering and B.S. degree in Engineering physics at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. With colleagues and students, he has published over 140 refereed journal and conference papers and received three best paper awards. He also received the 2003 College of Engineering Teacher of the Year award. He holds nine U.S. patents. He was distinguished lecturer for the IEEE Electron Devices Society from 2006-2011 and is a Senior member of IEEE.

North Carolina State University