Jinsong Huang
Dept. of Mechanical and Materials Engineering
University of Nebraska Lincoln

Understanding Fundamental Properties of Organometal Trihalide Perovskites for Solar Cell Application

Location: EB1 Room 1011

Friday, February 20th 2015 - 11:00 am

The research of organometal trihalide perovskite solar cells continues to boom with device power conversion efficiency approaching that of single crystal solar cells. I will introduce our progress of using low temperature solution processes, which are particularly attractive in the fabrication of large area devices such as solar cells to reduce cost, to form pinhole-free perovskite thin films at multiple length scales. Then I will explain how we used interface engineering to improve the device efficiency to 15-18% in planar heterojunction architecture devices fabricated at temperature below 105 °C. This talk will then focus on our understanding on the most "hot" and controversial issues in the perovskite solar cells including defects, doping, photocurrent hysteresis, ferroelectricity of hybrid perovskite materials, and intrinsic carrier diffusion length in these halide perovskite materials.

Jinsong Huang received his PhD degree in Material Science and Engineering from the University of California-Los Angeles in 2007. After working in Agiltron Inc. as a research scientist for two years, he joined the University of Nebraska-Lincoln (UNL) in 2009 as an assistant professor in the Department of Mechanical and Materials Engineering , and was promoted to associate professor in 2014. His current research interests include solution processed electronic materials for applications in sensing, energy and consumer electronics. He is the coauthors/editors of over 70 publications, and over 10 patents, 4 book chapters and 1 book. He serves as the Chair of Material Engineering PhD Program, and was selected as William E. Brooks Engineering Leadership Fellow in 2014. He serves as an associate editor for Scientific Reports. He has received several prestigious awards such as NSF CAREER Award (2013), Edgerton Innovation Award (2012), and DOD Young Investigator Award (2010).

North Carolina State University