NCSU Takes Multiple Awards Home from Microanalysis Conference

NCSU’s MSE Department took home four awards from the Microscopy and Microanalysis 2014 Conference in Hartford, Connecticut August 3-8. Doctoral students Matthew Burch and Ali Moballegh won Presidential Scholar Awards for their works titled “Investigation of Local A-site Chemistry in Barium Strontium Titanate Using Aberration Corrected STEM, EELS ADS” and “Investigation of the Nature and Mechanism of Resistive Switching in TiO2-x,” respectively. Both are members of Professor Elizabeth Dickey’s research group. In addition, Burch won 1st prize in Wednesday’s poster session in the physical sciences category.

Post-doctoral Scholar Xiahan Sang and Assistant Research Professor Yang Liu won Presidential Post-doctoral awards. Sang is a member of Professor James Lebeau’s research group, and his work was titled “Putting a New Spin on Scanning Transmission Electron Microscopy.” Yang Liu’s award honored his research done at Sandia National Laboratory titled “In Situ Transmission Electron Microscopy (TEM) Study on the Lithium Ion Transport in Si-Ge Heterostructured Nanowires.” All the awards were honored at Monday Morning’s plenary session and came with $1,000 travel stipends. In all, the department sent seven students, one post-doctoral researcher, one technical staff member, and two faculty members.

At the previous Microscopy and Microanalysis meeting, held in Indianapolis, IN, Houston Dycus was awarded a Presidential Scholar Award for his work titled “Resolving Ambiguities at the Bi2Te3/GaAs Interface with Atomic Resolution EDS.” Dycus is a member of Professor James Lebeau’s research group.