Professors Narayan, Allbritton named Fellows on the National Academy of Inventors

Dr. Jagdish (Jay) Narayan, John C. Fan Distinguished Chair in Materials Science, and Dr. Nancy Allbritton, Professor and Chair of Biomedical Engineering, have been named Fellows of the National Academy of Inventors (NAI).

The academy was founded in 2010 to recognize and encourage inventors with patents issued from the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office, enhance the visibility of academic technology and innovation, encourage the disclosure of intellectual property, educate and mentor innovative students, and translate the inventions of its members to benefit society.

Being named an NAI Fellow is a high professional honor for academic inventors who have “demonstrated a highly prolific spirit of innovation in creating or facilitating outstanding inventions that have made a tangible impact on quality of life, economic development, and the welfare of society.”

On Tuesday morning, the academy announced its 2014 class of Fellows. They will be inducted on March 20, 2015 at the NAI’s 4th annual conference.