Professor Narayan Receives The 2012 Lee Hsun Lecture Award

Professor Jagdish (Jay) Narayan, Senior Fellow of TMS and Inaugural Fellow of MRS, received The 2012 Lee Hsun Lecture Award sponsored by Institute of Metal Research, Shenyang National Laboratory, and The Chinese Academy of Sciences. He delivered the prestigious lecture, entitled, “Frontiers in Nanostructured Materials for Next-generation Nanotechnology,” on July 20, 2012 at IMR, Shenyang National Laboratory, Shenyang, China. The lecture focused on the inherent advantages and challenges of nanomaterials and the design of new materials leading to novel and unique systems with improved properties. The primary emphasis of this presentation was on processing control at the atomic scale, directed and controlled self-assembly processing of novel nanomaterials, atomic and nanoscale characterization and modeling to transition nanoscience and nanotechnology into systems and manufacturing. The materials and systems of interest included novel architectures for superhard and superstrong and tough materials, domain matching epitaxy and new paradigms for epitaxy across the misfit scale, novel self-assembled magnetic materials, nanomagnetics, spintronics, light-emitting diodes, smart integrated sensors and nanoelectronics.

Professor Narayan is the John Fan Family Distinguished Chair Professor in the Department of Materials Science and Engineering, and also has appointment as Distinguished Visiting Scientist at Oak Ridge National Laboratory. After graduating with distinction and first rank from India’s top institution (IIT, Kanpur) in 1969, Narayan continued his studies at the University of California, Berkeley, and obtained his MS (1970) and PhD (1971) degrees in a record time of two years. He worked as Research Metallurgist at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory (1971-72) and Senior Scientist and Group Leader at Oak Ridge National Lab (1972-84), before joining North Carolina State University in 1984 as senior professor and Director of Microelectronics Center of North Carolina. He also served as Director of Division of Materials Research (1990-92) of the National Science Foundation.

Professor Narayan’s other honors include: 2011 Acta Materialia Gold Medal and Prize, 2011-12 NCSU Holladay Medal, 2011 NCSU Reynolds Prize, 2011 MRS Forum and 2011 MS&T International Conference in Narayan’s honor, ASM Gold Medal, Edward DeMille Campbell Lecture and Prize, three IR-100 Awards, IIT/K Distinguished Alumnus Award, Inaugural MRS Fellow, Life Member and Fellow of TMS, Life Member and Fellow of APS, ASM Fellow, AAAS Fellow, Honorary Member MRS-I, Fellow Bohmische Physical Society, and Life Member and Fellow of National Academy of Sciences (India). Professor Narayan has published over 500 papers in archival journals and received 35 patents which have over 12, 800 citations and h-index of 55 so far.