COE recognizes four staff members through Engineering Awards for Excellence

Four College of Engineering (COE) staff members received Awards for Excellence. These recipients were chosen among 17 nominees, and were recognized during a virtual ceremony on May 4.

The College’s Awards for Excellence program annually honors the accomplishments and contributions of employees who go above and beyond their required job responsibilities. Recipients of the award receive eight hours of paid time off, a $250 check and a plaque. Additionally, they become eligible for the University-wide Awards for Excellence, considered one of the most prestigious honors that can be given to a non-faculty employee.

Awards are given in two employment categories: Exempt from the Human Resources Act (EHRA) employees, staff who directly engage in NC State’s mission of education activities, and State Human Resources Act (SHRA) employees, staff whose responsibilities include a wide range of activities to support NC State’s mission. Two EHRA employees and two SHRA employees are chosen as award recipients.

Awards are given in the categories of Customer Service, Efficiency and Innovation, Human Relations, Outstanding State Government Service, Public Service and Safety and Heroism, and Spirit of North Carolina.

André Mosley, desktop support administrator and implementation specialist II in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering (ECE), was an EHRA recipient in the Customer Service category. Douglas Tremblay, lab manager in the UNC/NC State Joint Department of Biomedical Engineering (BME), also an EHRA recipient, received his award in the Outstanding State Government Service category.

Sherry Bailey, university program specialist and manager of special projects in the Department of Nuclear Engineering (NE), was an SHRA recipient for the Spirit of North Carolina category. Candice Kimble Wallace, visual arts specialist in Engineering Communications, also an SHRA recipient, received her award in the Efficiency and Innovation category.

André Mosley

Andre Mosley, left, accepting Award of Excellence from Dan Stancil.

Working to fix technical issues for ECE’s more than 1,800 students and faculty members, Mosley is a vital and dedicated team member recognized by his colleagues for rising to the occasion and continuously learning new skills to better support the department’s endeavors.

Mosley is the primary support for ECE’s 130 Apple computers, which he manages through the campus JAMF computer management service. Additionally, he has created new Linux workstations from scratch and archived user data from older systems.

Recently, Mosley became responsible for managing ECE’s IT orders in the MarketPlace system, ensuring that the department’s needs are met through the ordering of supplies and managing the majority of desktop and laptop computer requests.

Douglas Tremblay

Douglas Tremblay

Tremblay is respected by colleagues for his continuous efforts to go above and beyond in order to give BME students from the undergraduate to the post-doctoral level innovative and interesting laboratory courses, both in-person and online, while championing safety culture.

Laboratory courses led by Tremblay emphasize the importance of safety while instructing and guiding students on critical scientific processes regularly conducted in laboratories.

During the onset of COVID-19, Tremblay was instrumental in transitioning laboratory courses to an online format that enabled students to still engage in laboratory activities. When converting to a remote setting, Tremblay helped students meet course learning objectives by recording lab videos displaying major techniques and giving them the opportunity to analyze real data.

Sherry Bailey

Sherry Bailey

Working “behind the scenes,” Bailey is recognized for positively affecting NE’s culture and elevating its image through her efforts in mentoring the department’s high-achieving students.

Colleagues of Bailey applaud her dedication to the department, particularly through her mentoring of students through applications for prestigious graduate fellowships across the country. Numerous students have been awarded fellowships with her assistance.

Outside of NE, Bailey established the Carolina Dance Foundation, a non-profit organization promoting dance education and an appreciation for the dance arts.

Candice Kimble Wallace

Candice Wallace, right, with one of her children and a stuffed Mrs. Wuf doll.

Wallace’s work frequents the inboxes and mailboxes of faculty members, staff members and alumni of the College as she designs dozens of communication materials annually while providing student interns the opportunity to build their portfolios and careers.

Considered a thorough and efficient designer, Wallace directs the design of magazines, departmental newsletters, postcards, thank-you cards, brochures, fact sheets and other digital pieces that illustrate the College at its best. Her award-winning projects have been praised for their unique, eye-catching detail.

Wallace has also guided more than 10 interns and part-time designers through constructive feedback and providing opportunities for them to make their work better, while also encouraging them to find their own unique style as graphic designers.

Other EHRA nominees

  • George Martell | Department of Materials Science and Engineering (MSE)
  • Mario Milev | NE
  • Pa Nhia Moore | Biomanufacturing Training & Education Center (BTEC)

Other SHRA nominees

  • Michelle Bailey | Engineering IT
  • Charles Dawson | Engineering Online
  • Allison Gorrell | NC State Engineering Foundation
  • Chintan Kanani | NE
  • Ervin Miller | NE
  • Bernadine Premachandra | MSE
  • Andrea Scheer | BME
  • Ern-Yeong Song | Department of Civil, Construction and Environmental Engineering (CCEE)
  • Russell Villard | NE
  • Elizabeth Walker | Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering (MAE)

This post was originally published in College of Engineering News.