2019 Outstanding Research Award Recipients and Research Leadership Academy Inductees Announced

The Office of Research and Innovation, in partnership with the Alumni Association, has selected the 2019 recipients of the Outstanding Research Award, who also will be inducted to the Research Leadership Academy (RLA).

The five recipients – Ralph Dean (College of Agriculture and Life Sciences); Jacob Jones (College of Engineering); Elaine Orr (College of Humanities and Social Sciences); Heather Patisaul (College of Sciences); and Phillip Westmoreland (College of Engineering) – along with previous recipient Richard Spontak (College of Engineering, 2005) will be awarded membership in the RLA for as long as they are with NC State, with an initial commitment of at least three years of active service.

“Congratulations, again, to all 17 of the exceptional faculty members nominated for this year’s Alumni Association Outstanding Research Award and RLA Membership; selecting only five from this elite group certainly was not easy for the selection committee,” says Robert Smart, current RLA chair and director of the Center for Human Health and the Environment. “I very much look forward to working with our six new inductees and seeing the contributions they will make to the RLA’s continued success.”  

Each year, the Outstanding Research Award recognizes faculty members for excellence in their field and commitment to the university’s research enterprise. The selection committee is comprised of representatives from the Office of Research and Innovation, the Provost’s Office and the RLA.

The RLA is a faculty advisory group to the Vice Chancellor for Research. The goals of the RLA are to: encourage a culture of mentoring across campus; empower faculty for success; advance an intellectual, multidisciplinary research community; and develop and promote best administrative practices throughout the NC State research community.

Visit this page to learn more about the RLA.

This post was originally published in Office of Research and Innovation.